Home Local News Speaker Abbas announces 134 House Standing Committees

Speaker Abbas announces 134 House Standing Committees


The House of Representatives has constituted over 134 standing committees for its four year tenure.

Speaker of the House of Representatives, Tajudeen Abbas reel out the list of chairmen and its Deputies during plenary session in Abuja.

Going by the list, it was observed that some committees were newly created and added to make up the official number.

These include Committee on Banking Regulations chaired by Hon. Mohammed El-rufai, Renewable Energy chaired by Hon. Victor Ogene, Rural Electrification chaired by Hon. Ibrahim Bukar.

Some principal officers in the last assembly who returned were also favoured. These are Hon. Ahmed Idris, chairman, committee on Federal Character Commission, Hon. Alhassan Doguwa, chairman Committee on Upstream and Hon. Peter Akpatason chairman Committee on Aviation.

While chairmen of Committees in the last assembly who returned and retained their positions include Hon. Babajimi Benson as chairman, committee on Defence, Hon. James Faleke as chairman, committee on Finance, Hon. Yusuf Gagdi as chairman, committee on Navy, Hon. Leke Abejide as chairman committee on Customs and Hon. Sada Soli as chairman committee on Water Resources.

To this end, the House adjourned its plenary till six weeks

Previous articleMmesoma : Reps Ad-hoc Committee applauds JAMB for technological innovations
Next articleNCC warns general public about fraudulent LinkedIn Account created to impersonate Danbatta


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here